Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar > Generators & Solar Power
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-20-2018, 07:35 AM   #61
2 Rivet Member

Elgin , Texas
Easy start ID/location

I am new to AS life and as I described in an earlier post am having AC/genny overload symptoms similar to this thread. The onset was sudden after performing well through some very hot days even on Eco. Now it seems that unless I start cooling in the AM (under 90 degrees) the AC will continue to trip the Honda which is only 3 months old.

The compressor seems to start immediately and quietly but if I turn the thermostat higher shuts down very hard with a sudden thump.

How can I tell if a previous owner has installed a easy start?

2001 Bambi 19’ 11k Penguin with 2 manual knobs, Honda EU2000i. Good fuel, new plug, clean AF.
4seasons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 07:45 AM   #62
Electronic Controls OEM
Commercial Member

Allentown , New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4seasons View Post
How can I tell if a previous owner has installed a easy start?
Hi 4 seasons, this is a tough one to answer. You could perform a test to see if the EasyStart's short-cycle prevention timer is having any effect, but that is too complicated and confusing for me to explain to you. I would simply remove the cover of the A/C on the roof, and your answer will be readily apparent.
Old 07-20-2018, 08:13 PM   #63
Rivet Master

2007 27' International CCD FB
San Diego , California
TGIF. This story is not over. I've been looking forward to this weekend as Micro-Air has so generously donated to the cause. To help us through the summer with A/C on a single healthy 2000 watt class generator, as enabled by an EasyStart.