Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2008, 08:46 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1978 28' Ambassador
Kenton , Ohio
H2O heater not lighting

I have a 1978 Ambassador (28'). The water heater has never given me any trouble. We were camping this past weekend and initially the water heater was working as normal. After the 2nd night it would not relight. I could light it with a match so I know that fuel is not the problem but it will not light itself. I can hear the igniter clicking. New igniter? New circuit board? I will check connections when I get home from work this evening.
Thanks.
Tom
tlavergne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 09:16 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1993 25' Excella
Full Time , Anywhere USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlavergne View Post
I have a 1978 Ambassador (28'). The water heater has never given me any trouble. We were camping this past weekend and initially the water heater was working as normal. After the 2nd night it would not relight. I could light it with a match so I know that fuel is not the problem but it will not light itself. I can hear the igniter clicking. New igniter? New circuit board? I will check connections when I get home from work this evening.
Thanks.
Tom
We just went through this type of issue with the refrigerator in our 1977 Argosy (2 year old refrigerator). The re-igniter would click but no spark could be seen. After doing some research on troubleshooting RV refrigerator problems on the web we found the solution to our issue. There is a ceramic piece (unsure what it is called) that was damp. All we needed to do was to light the refrigerator manually and let it run for a while. Once we did this the ceramic piece dried out and the refrigerator now starts every time. Not sure a water heater has the same setup, but thought it may be worth a shot.

myboyburt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 10:08 AM   #3