Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2004, 01:01 PM   #1
Confused & Wandering

1993 34' Excella
Right here, , where ever I wake up
Send a message via AIM to Theo
Bathroom woes.

After playing in the mess for a while, I have concluded that there are a couple of problems that need addressing in the bathroom situation.

a) The shower pan (entire floor area in there) has a blocked drain, is it somehow accessable from below, or do I have to fish around in some really manky stuff to try from the top..

b) The waste tank valve leaks.. What is the best course of action. Is it something I may wish to get a professional in on, or is there something else I can do instead. I have no knowledge of these systems, do not know what I am looking at, but can usually muddle through if enough information is thrown at me. A steady leak passes the valve, with the handle in, probably 10% of volume. Pull the handle and it rushes out, as it should.. Finding this out was not nice... YUK. Fortunately the cap has a small cap in it, so I could contain the revolting sludge adequately.

Theo
Old 01-15-2004, 01:19 PM   #2
Still Working

1994 36' Classic 36
North Charleston , South Carolina
Bath location

Where is your bath? What kind of bath?, (wetbath or seperate from the toilet seat).

You may have some foreign debris lodged in the "seat" of the drain valve and that is preventing your "gate" from seating against the gasket.

If you have rear bath, you should be able to open rear hatch and see Valve body for your drain. Try flushing ot out with high pressure water.

If that does not solve your problem, you may be faced with replacing the valve body. That requires cutting the valve body out and replacing. You can buy them at most RV stores.