Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2017, 05:22 PM   #1
Engineer

2019 25' Flying Cloud
2018 20' Flying Cloud
2014 16' Sport
Aurora , Oregon
16' Bambi Waste Tank

I am new to Airstream and this forum having just purchased (August) a 2017 16' Bambi Sport. We really love the trailer and have used it for a few 4 day weekend adventures. We've had several other small campers but this is certainly the highest quality and most comfortable one I have ever had. There are just two of us and the size is perfect especially when getting in to tight places or fitting it in to my covered barn for storage. While we normally camp at sites with hookups, often you have to take an electric/water only site. In these cases the 21 gallon black/gray tank isn't sufficient. I do have a portable tank with wheels but I don't relish having to dink with sewer stuff every few days. Has anyone ever built a 2nd tank to mount under the rear floor area for these? There is certainly room for a "T" shaped tank back there that I calculate would hold 14 gallons. Does anyone sell something like this? I can certainly draw one up and have it fabricated but, if something already exists, I'd go for that.
engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 06:04 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2019 27' Flying Cloud
Kansas City , Missouri
If you are of the KISS mentality, perhaps you might prefer to try Len and Jeanne's solution first.

They used to have a 16 until it was lost in an accident, and they like to camp in rustic settings that often don't have hookups.

When they had their 16, here is essentially what they did. (I paraphrase).

1-Double-line the (dry and empty) toilet with 2 standard kitchen trash bags.
2-Add in a small amount of garden peat moss to the bag.
3-Use the toilet without flushing water. That is, do you thing into the trash bags with the peat moss in it.