Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-02-2013, 03:41 PM   #21
Airstream Newbie

1978 31' Sovereign
Covington , Louisiana
Please understand, that none of this is a personal attack on anyone posting an opinion on this matter, only a desire to make sure that others have the opportunity to consider the facts or science surrounding dynamic balancing products. I am a degreed engineer who has researched this area, and I also have several years of balancing experience in automotive, aviation, and industrial settings.

"First, when a tire is not rolling, it is not generating any centrifugal force, so there is no balancing going on."

Answer: This is OK, no balancing is needed when the wheel assembly is not rotating.

"At what speed does the centrifugal force become enough to overcome the force of gravity to cause the balancing effect to dominate? I don't know, but it seems to me that since gravity never stops working, it is always a factor of some sort."

Answer: Gravity is a factor, however it is insignificant relative to the centrifugal force of the rolling wheel assembly. I am sure that you have twirled something weighted on the end of a string before. Gravity is at play, but the centrifugal force is much greater and allows the object you are twirling to move in any axis.

"Second, any separate piece that you mount on the wheel hub isn't doing any dynamic balancing. It's only doing static balancing in the plane it is operating."