Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2005, 01:24 PM   #1
Naysayer

1968 24' Tradewind
Russellville , earth
Axle questions

I am considering the purchase of a 1968 Tradewind (tandem axles) and based on what I have read here I am going on the assumption that they will require replacement. Does anyone know where I can get the specifications for the axles? The trip home would take me near the factory in Elkhart Ind, does it sound reasonable to by the axles there and have them installed locally? Any thoughts on this matter would be greatly appreciated as I have no airstream experience.

Thanks
Rodney
Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 01:36 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
Commercial Member

Currently Looking...
Somewhere , Indiana
Talking From the old axles!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen Disarray
Does anyone know where I can get the specifications for the axles?
Thanks
Rodney
Rodney,

There are several key questions that any axle manufacturer will require to build you axles.

They are:
  • Hub face dimension
  • Outside of bracket dimension
  • Mounting bracket height/hole location
  • Lug bolt pattern
  • Brake requirements
  • Capacity

While this list is not complete, it is basic. A short call to an axle shop and a bit of homework on your end should be all that is required to get you set up. Typically the phone call can range from 5-10 minutes.

I hope that this helps,

Henry
axleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 02:47 PM   #3
Moderator dude

1966 26' Overlander
Phoenix , Arizona
I may be wrong .....

However I believe there is going to be a good possibility that the factory will not have your axle in stock. It is a vendor item and they may be very happy to install it, they will just have to order it first.

There may be other things you want to consider first.