Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-05-2018, 02:44 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Petoskey , Michigan
Can a technophobe survive?

70 yr old single man w 18lb dog preparing to go full time w a Toyota Tundra and a 25-27' AS.
I have some RV experience (35' Bluebird MH and 31 box trailer w single slide).
I'm handy and have no problems w normal RV issues but am absolutely scared sXXXless about the need for more than simple roadmaps to navigate solo as well as the requirement to plan far in advance for my next stop.
I have a pay- as- you go flip-phone and will have my IMAC which I am comfortable using but neither seem like they will be much help when actually traveling.
I'm an educated man with a real phobia about technology - I love old houses, wooden boats and antique cars but just cannot wrap my head around smart phones and the like.
Am I the only stupid person out there?
capt george is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 03:06 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Be sure to get an older rig, and you should be fine.

It’s the newer ones that have all the bells and whistles.

Maggie
Old 12-05-2018, 03:15 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Fort Davis , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by capt george View Post
70 yr old single man w 18lb dog preparing to go full time w a Toyota Tundra and a 25-27' AS.
I have some RV experience (35' Bluebird MH and 31 box trailer w single slide).
I'm handy and have no problems w normal RV issues but am absolutely scared sXXXless about the need for more than simple roadmaps to navigate solo as well as the requirement to plan far in advance for my next stop.