Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-12-2011, 07:58 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2002 25' Safari
1988 25' Excella
1967 20' Globetrotter
Seattle , Washington
Which comes first?

This is my first time posting but I LOVE all the advice on here. My question: what do I buy first, the chicken (tow vehicle) or the egg (Airstream)? I see one online that I really really want! Used 25' Safari twin with no dinette. There is no volunteer inspector listed for the state where it is located. It is at a dealer in a different part of the U.S.

I have had a '64 19' Globetrotter and an '88 25' Excella so I am not a complete newby. Would you advise me to fly to the dealer and examine it myself? Or put a deposit on it and wait for the tow vehicle so I can bring it home?

Want some additions done (solar, fantastic, television/DVD, substitute flooring for carpet) so should I contract the dealer to do that, or take it to a Camping World in my state?

My plans are to dump my "stuff" and be a full-timer. I had a taste of it before and it has always been my dream.

Opinions wanted!

Martha
clemdogmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 08:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Airstream - Other
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bosque Farms , New Mexico
I'd get the egg first, then get the chicken to match its size/weight.

Lynn
Old 09-12-2011, 08:43 AM   #3

2006 19' International CCD
Olathe , Kansas
You could do a member search for the State and town the AS is at and then send a private message to the people who are the closest to the trailer. I did that @ a year ago and it worked for me. PM me if you need help. I also think buy the AS first and then but the correct TV.

Good luck!
blmitch5 is offline   Reply With Quote