Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-13-2013, 09:47 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
St Albert , Alberta
Newbie Minuet custodian

Good morning fellow Streamers

As a newbie I'd like to say thanks for the warm welcomes I've received from various members.

We're not only new to this site but also brand new and wet behind the ears to trailer life - sooo glad I found the Air Forums site with all its great advice.

I was at an antique car show in June admiring an incredible 1956 Pontiac with matching colours slab-front style trailer. In the course of our chat the owner mentioned he had a restored Airstream for sale, and that it was painted the same colours as his Pontiac. He was selling the Airstream because it was a 1977, so didn't match the year of his 1956 Pontiac t/v. In my mind I was thinking "who in their right mind would paint over a gorgeous shiny aluminum Airstream???" He must have sensed my confusion as he went on to explain that it was an Airstream Argosy, and that it came painted from the factory.

The PO is an auto body mechanic. He fully restored the exterior, including installing a new aluminum belly pan and belly insulation, and polished the aluminum propane tanks. The body was repainted bright white/clearcoat with metallic blue trim - looks gorgeous without appearing garish. In view of her colours we've christened her the Blue Plate Special (for you youngsters, look up the name on Wikipedia). Pictures to follow.