Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-30-2015, 11:12 AM   #1

knoxville , Tennessee
Looking to join Airstream club

hey everybody,
I've been dreaming to buy an Airstream for the past few years and it looks like I have the perfect opportunity to finally pick one up. I'm looking for a pull behind that is 25-35 feet in length. I'd like to keep the purchase price around 10K or lower and I'll have about another 5K to invest in upgrades and repairs over the next year. It seems like up to late 80s Soveriegn fits the bill pretty well. I'll be shopping in the east coast and southeast USA. I am very handy as I was a mechanic by trade and hobby and I have lots of experience with home repair, so I'll be doing the work myself. I hope to find one that is livable while I'm working on it. I've been looking though the forums and I was wondering what input you guys have while inspecting candidate trailers. What are major areas and items I should be checking to reduce the chance of running into serious issues? Thanks!
Bustedknuckl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 08:53 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Good luck... I think you will find lots of opportunity to apply your lifelong skills in this project....

To tell you that you are making the right decision.. well, we can't.. because we don't know the whole story...

But, good luck..!
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 09:04 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois