Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-20-2013, 01:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Killingworth , Connecticut
Plywood floor alternatives - engineering opinion

Hi Guys,
I'm new to the board, having just bought a '73 31' Land Yacht.

I haven't even touched it yet (it's pretty much all original), but I'm anticipating getting in to address a rusty frame and probably floor rot.

I have been reading up on this site and there was an extensive discussion (seems never ending) about floor materials, replacement processes, etc. I even saw a guy do a fantastic job replacing all the wood with aluminum sheet.

I'm an aerospace engineer and have worked in the aircraft (actually helicopter) industry for 15 years. From a structural perspective, i had a couple of thoughts / questions:

1. Has anyone attempted to replace the plywood layer at the perimeter (under the "C" or "U" channel) with a structural member, like 3/4" square steel or aluminum tubing? You would effectively create a perimeter frame that matched the channel planform, and connected to primary frame either by branching across each outrigger, or having perpendicular sections that bolted to the major frame rails?

2. By doing that (and choosing the correct materials / insulators to avoid galvanic corrosion issues), you would decouple the floor from the frame/shell, at less weight than a full sheet of aluminum...

3. You could then fit your plywood (or other non-rotting) material inside that frame (tabs on the perimeter frame could be made to support the edge of the floor), at whatever thickness was needed to give you sufficient stiffness for floor loading.

What am I missing?

Thanks
Simon