Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-24-2006, 11:36 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
Los Angeles , California
Rust: Red Flag? Deal-breaker? Run away?

Howdy!
Looking to buy this 69 Sovereign, but noticed a rusty area (make that "holes") underneath in the back (rear bath) - image attached....I walked on the floor in the bathroom and it seems solid, but is this look like "super trouble, don't even think about buying it!!"? Or is it closer to "normal" for one this old? This would be my first airstream so I'm a bit novice in this area.

Also, would it need to be fixed, or just leave it? I don't plan to move it from where it is at (on beach property....probably doesn't help the rust either)

Thanks!!

(The rest of the trailer looks great as far as rust and wear are concerned, this was the only thing my eye caught)

- jc
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rusty_bottom.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	147.6 KB
ID:	25151  
j_c_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

San Angelo , Texas
jc,

I had the same problem with our 71 Sovereign....those holes on mine covered 3/4 of the holding pan to the black tank....black tank cracked as a result. In retrospect, I'd be leary of A/S's with rust in that area. I was lucky; I had a bunch of money to play with at the time. If you can do the repair work yourself, then go for it and good luck.

Frederic

2004 F-350 King Ranch

AIR # 8239
EX-WBCCI # 8371
StingrayL82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 02:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 27' Flying Cloud
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Rusted Out Pan

Your picture shows a rusted out black-water, holding tank pan.
Replacing the pan is a minor expense.