Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-12-2005, 02:21 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1972 27' Overlander
Longmont , Colorado
Cool N.A.D.A. value: Useful or bogus?

hi all you airstream owners! I'm new to the "big travel trailer" topic, only have a pop-up now but considering upgrading to a 1989 29' excella 1000. My question is, what really is a reasonable price to pay for one in very good condition?? NADA says something like $7700. I see that most prices for similar units, in paper classifieds and on the web, are usually more. What gives? I will guess that it's just supply and demand. Can any of you with some experience with buying and selling these offer me a ballpark number to look for? Is this even a good model, or should I consider another? What about getting one from the 50's or 60's- any advantage to that? If I plan to mainly have it parked, is an airstream a good choice? thanks a lot
tphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 02:25 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia
From my many years retail car and truck business experience, the NADA was a guide as it is stated on the cover, and is based on auction sales figures and such. However it was never as accurate as we would like. Most dealers used other means to gauge the value of a unit to buy, sell, or trade.
The NADA is good for establishing general range of valuation for insurance, etc.
I think the market in your area dictates the true value of course.
AIR #005
Please visit our blogs and web pages:
OUR AIRSTREAM PASSION! BLOG
RESTORING AN AIRSTREAM
retired!
ALANSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 02:33 PM   #3
Cartoon Character

2004 34' Classic
On The Road , U.S.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tphan