Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Global 'streaming > Modifications
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-22-2008, 09:39 PM   #1
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Question How did you customize your Airstream?

For example, as a newbie, I am just beginning to notice that there are different types of windows, especially on the front and rear. Have you seen anyone that added those w-i-d-e windows to their Yacht?

And in looking around at them in dealers' lots, I see that some of them are now beginning to sport a small window, almost in the roof, in other words, well above where the standard windows are. Can they be added? They give a lot more light, while maintaining privacy. What a great idea!

Thanks in advance for sharing the changes that you've made to the structure of your trailer.

Aage
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 11:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 23' International CCD
Lapeer , Michigan
Hi Aage!

I know Rich Luhr the editor of Airstream Life blogged about and included pictures of new windows being put in his Airstream at Roger Williams Airstream dealer in Texas. Here is his blog, I cannot find the specific entry right now unfortunately. Tour of America You'll have to look back in the archives. He had a wide window and an overhead vista view window installed.

I also read that Colonial Airstream of New Jersey put in a wide window in one of the new Safari Sport models.

Perhaps you can get more information from them on the installation.

photography
wheel interested is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:59 AM   #3
Restorations done right
Commercial Member

1962 26' Overlander
1961 26' Overlander
Vintage Kin Owner
Currently Looking...
Baltimore , Maryland