Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2012, 10:26 AM   #15
4 Rivet Member
 
xo1rider's Avatar
 
2012 27' FB International
Fremont , California
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 268
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMT View Post
X01,

That's what I thought. You still have the original digital antenna that was stock on your 27FB and also a stand alone satellite dish? If so it probably means they put a new hole in the skin to get the coax from the dish to the receiver. Is this hole visible or is it under the mount for the dish?

No idea, one of these days I'll bring a ladder with me on a trip and find out.
__________________

__________________
"The bad news: there is no key to the universe.
The good news: it was never locked."
Swami Beyondananda

http://polakoff.com/RamblinRose/
Our travel log
xo1rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:29 AM   #16
4 Rivet Member
 
xo1rider's Avatar
 
2012 27' FB International
Fremont , California
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 268
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
Glad you got the answer you needed.



Could they have run four cables since an HD (hi def) signal requires two cables?

Personally, I would not accept a set-up that requires both sets to watch the same channel. To me, that defeats part of the purpose in having two TVs.
No, I only need one cable for HD (along with a B-band converter). I use the second cable in order to use my DVR to record two shows and or watch one and record another. Having said that if you want to watch different shows on each TV it takes a second receiver.
__________________

__________________
"The bad news: there is no key to the universe.
The good news: it was never locked."
Swami Beyondananda

http://polakoff.com/RamblinRose/
Our travel log
xo1rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:34 AM   #17
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by xo1rider View Post
No, I only need one cable for HD (along with a B-band converter). I use the second cable in order to use my DVR to record two shows and or watch one and record another. Having said that if you want to watch different shows on each TV it takes a second receiver.
OK, it's been a while since I had my HD system installed, and I think you are right. So then, it still makes sense to have four cables, since they couldn't know which place you may want to use a two-tuner DVR.

Rental on a second receiver is $4 a month here. In winter, I use the "extra" one to use my trailer TV in the basement. Only so many shows that my DW and I share a common desire to watch
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:02 AM   #18
Rivet Master
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Western , ** Big Sky Country ** Montana
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
... an HD (hi def) signal requires two cables?
??? Just one coax cable to our receiver and one HDMI to the TV ... the newer sat receivers have the capability to simultaneously watch one show and record another - with just one signal supply cable from the dish to the receiver...

The receivers have HDMI, coax, and RCA-pin outputs as well.
__________________
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:03 PM   #19
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mefly2 View Post
??? Just one coax cable to our receiver and one HDMI to the TV ... the newer sat receivers have the capability to simultaneously watch one show and record another - with just one signal supply cable from the dish to the receiver...

The receivers have HDMI, coax, and RCA-pin outputs as well.
OK, yes, that's it: two for watch one record the other. HDMI is a neat connector. All the HiDef video info, plus audio too in a lightweight, smaller wire.
__________________

__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.