Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electronics & Connectivity
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-12-2008, 03:17 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 28' International CCD
New York , New York
Any airstreams out there with a *lot* of tech gadgetry?

I'm thinking of fulltiming for a year (or more?) while continuing to work. I'm a manager in the tech industry, and have a lot of gadgetry I'd like to see implemented in the 'stream. I have no idea about power consumption or where to put much of it, so I was looking to talk with someone who had done something like this. (or will I be a first?)

Here's what I'm looking at:
International 27 or 28, or possibly Panamerica (convert garage into the office? I worry that the remaining area is too small to fulltime in though)

- Tandberg T1000 Video Conferencing unit (mount under TV?)
- 24 or 30" monitor (replace TV?)
- Satellite internet and TV, as well as Bonded EVDO (3-4 cards? what multiplexer to use?) connectivity (satellite is too high latency for vidconf, but EVDO isn't available everywhere)
- Wireless for laptop
- HD and Satellite radio
- TIVO
- As much solar/wind/battery as possible (with generator backup) to be able to run this wherever

As a sidenote, the bed of the truck will be hauling a BMW 1150GS, so there is limited storage space there (and no way to do a cap or anything). I have a dog, too, so the back seat of the crew cab is mostly taken up as well.

I'm aware that all of this sounds crazy but if anyone has done anything similar, I'd love to chat.

-d
dre00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2008, 04:59 PM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large