Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-28-2018, 07:05 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 27' Globetrotter
Jeffersonville , Indiana
Red face Novice Hauler-determined to learn

Hello AS Friends,

I’m new to the RV/TT world and have been reading many articles on this forum. I need some perspectives on hitches——

I placed an order for a 2019 Globetrotter and I’m trying to determine the best hitch. I have a 2017 3500 Dodge Cummins Deisel 4x4 and plan to haul my girl over many miles. The problem I’m running into is, I’m traveling alone (female) and some hitches I understand can be extremely heavy. I’m looking for a hitch that I can manage alone and that is easy to use. Safety first.

Any advice would be appreciated. I want to prevent making mistakes and needing your expertise.
Lve42dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 07:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
There are a large number of hitch systems, and a matching set of opinions about what is best.

In my opinion, best for me (a rather old phart that does NOT want to do too much heavy lifting) is the Hensley Manufacturing or the ProPride systems. They have the advantage of being installed just ONCE, the ProPride has a weight distribution tensioning system that requires little effort to tension, and either one flat eliminates sway. That said, there are others available...

Look at www.propridehitch.com for details and descriptions on how these hitches work. I decided on a ProPride and never regretted the choice...only part I have to lift when starting a trip is the "stinger", which is the bar that connects the tow vehicle to the trailer part of the hitch. Once and done...