Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > General Motorhome Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-26-2009, 05:32 PM   #1
Rivet Master

Las Vegas , Nevada
Onan 6.5, Load Question

I've read that you should always have a load on the onan while its running, I presume for moisture reasons.

So.....I'm wondering how much of a load is necessary? Such as the times when you dont need the A/C or heater while boondocking but you would like to watch television/vcr or dvd.

Is there a minimum amount of draw required or am I worrying about something that I shouldn't be?

How do all of you with experience handle this?

Thanks!
345bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 08:07 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 20' Argosy 20
Richmond , Kentucky
Bill, I'm no expert but I think you'll find that just your Univolt alone will put a light to medium draw on your generator depending on the state of your batteries. Periodically you do want to run the generator with a reasonably heavy load to dry it out but I don't think you need to do it every time (heavy load that is).

You could also try an ac powered fan for a while, or depending on time of year a heat strip. If you have an electric element in your water heater that would also put a nice little draw on your generator.

Brad
1974 31' Excella trailer (parting out, as of 4/1/2015 I have wheels & windows left to sell)
bkahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 08:21 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
1984 31' Airstream310
Ajo , Arizona
When I worked on the tugboats, the engineer would "excercise" the gensets by gradually
increasing the load to full capacity. I followed his lead with the mo/ho; in fact, ran both