Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1960 - 1964 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-28-2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2008 27' International FB
1964 19' Globetrotter
1955 26' Cruiser Overlander
Austin , Texas
1500 Mile Trip to get her home - Suggestions?

Been looking long and hard for a vintage and Bob Leopold (a.k.a. Roadrunner) and I just stuck a deal last night. I'll be picking up his "60" Overlander sometime next month.

I have no experience with vintage units, so this will be the beginning chapter of our vintage experiences!

I'll be driving from Austin TX to Indiana, PA (~1500 each way) to get her to her new home in Texas.

From what Bob tells me, the PO has put tires on approx 3 years ago. (I'm not sure of the type or date code) I believe brakes and lights are supposed to work as well.

My preliminary plan is to head to PA and pick it up and take it to a local shop for new bearings/repack and new tires. I was thinking of having this done at "Airstream of Western Pennsylvania" in Greensburg, which from my understanding is about 45 mile away.

I'm hoping that the folks there can help me get the running gear checked and in order before the long journey home.