Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-04-2004, 02:39 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 28' Classic
Cincinnati , Ohio
Question tow vehicle isolated from A/S batteries??

Hi gang!

Newbie here with a '78 Tradewind International just purchased on eBay. I'm soooo excited!!! Paid too much but, hey, we're in for a penny - in for a pound!!! This was the Arkansas 25 footer that went (to me) for $6900 for those of you who lurk in the largest flea market in the universe.

Had it inspected by local A/S dealer and had brake assemblies, bearings and shocks replaced 'cause I ain't losin' no wheels at 70 MPH!!! Lots of other things wrong but nothing that will kill me. All the rest can be fixed a bit at a time (except for the cracked black tank and 'sprinkler system' split water lines (long story but the moral is -- TEST EVERYTHING BEFORE YOU BUY!!)

However, we're good to go to sunny FLA for some needed R&R at the end of the month. The univolt isn't working so I've got an intellipower package to install. My question is - how is the tow vehicle battery isolated from the A/S batteries (in my case dual A/S batteries and single T/V battery)? Do I need to include an isolator in the A/S circuit when I install the Intell!! I see nothing in the wiring diagram of the A/S to indicate any isolation device.

We often hopscotch down the road, staying one night in each campground and will leave the T/V connected. Will use of the trailer batteries (assume off the grid) pull down the T/V battery? What if I stay a week and don't unplug the umbilical? I'm pulling with an '03 Ford F250 P/U with prewired tow package.

Thoughts - observations - experiences???

Regards,

Bob

Bob Hastings
'06 Classic 28'
'04 Ford F250 V8

Remember :
Happiness is not a station you arrive at, but a manner of traveling.
Margaret Lee Runbeck

BOBHASTINGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2004, 02:47 PM   #2
AV8