Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2002, 09:40 PM   #1
Contributing Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Thumbs down Trailer Life RV Campground Finder

I thought I was getting the CD equivalent of the paper directory, but what it is is a P-poor map program by Rand-McNally that I foolishly bought and then threw away a long time ago in favor of DeLorme Road Atlas. Road Atlas isn't perfect, but it has all the roads and I can deal with its weaknesses. This program is simply frustrating (and I am a professional programmer).

This Rand-McNally program is a joke that can't even get me out of town in a reasonable manner. Important roads are missing, so it routes me through downtown Austin with about 40 traffic lights rather than a parallel expressway. The program has some good ideas, but is so poorly coded that it is nearly useless.

I wish Trailer Life would simply give us what I asked for ... a CD version of the paper directory. That would be worth the cost.
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 07:22 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1999 25' Safari
Edina , Minnesota
John,
I couldn't agree more. Ideally, I would like to be able to combine the TL campground and location information with my Delorme Street Atlas deluxe, or my Delorme Topo maps in one seamless application.

There are a couple features that I like on the TL CD like the end of day planning feature and the ability to alter start, finish and stopover times, but the mapping is poor at best.
Jace
JaceBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2002, 08:32 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

Send a message via AIM to JodynJeep Send a message via Yahoo to JodynJeep