Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (https://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Member Introductions (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f368/)
-   -   Tough choice: Airstream or Sailboat (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f368/tough-choice-airstream-or-sailboat-41369.html)

Don't Panic 04-19-2008 05:43 PM

Tough choice: Airstream or Sailboat

Hi,
I'm a full-time truck driver...so I currently live in an 18-wheeler.
I've come to the conclusion that the house will be sold because I'm rarely home to use it and the simpler lifestyle in the truck has really grown on me.

Now I have to decide between "fulltiming" an Airstream or "liveaboard" on a sailboat.

The travel and camping or sailing are actually only bonuses to me...my main goal is to escape the over-materialistic traps of the 'burbs and get back to basics in a lower cost, more self-sufficient situation.

If I do go AS, I imagine access to bike and hike trails, campfires and such would be wonderful...

Oh the agony of choice!

Any one here split their time between both?, Any advise as to models better for full-timers? (do any AS's float? haha)

Looks like a terrific forum, looking foward to learning alot here.
Take Care.

Boondocker 04-19-2008 05:45 PM

I have had both. To me it would be an easy choice get an airstream

Don't Panic 04-19-2008 06:00 PM

Gen-
Thanks, I saw your AS at the beach photo (cool)...maybe I can have the best of both while camping surf-side.

fastrob 04-19-2008 06:09 PM

Why Not Both?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Don't Panic
Now I have to decide between "fulltiming" an Airstream or "liveaboard" on a sailboat.
Oh the agony of choice!.................

Get rid of the house, I agree.
Keep the options open, do not spend much money on either.
Boats and trailers are piling up at dealers and repo lots.
Wait for blood in the streets, prices are falling.
Keep working, cash talks loudest.

R

85MH325 04-19-2008 06:12 PM