Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (https://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/)
-   -   Tripping breaker (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/tripping-breaker-25356.html)

Siamese66 08-16-2006 11:26 PM

Tripping breaker
 
I can't seem to figure out why when I plug into shore power my 15 amp breaker trips? DC works fine. I've tride resetting multiple times but its the same. I'm not aware of anything running. I even went in the house and reset the breakers switches there also thinking thert might be something too much on the circuit in the house. But everything seems normal. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Rick

Holzarbeiter 08-17-2006 12:48 AM

Check for a junction box that might be shorting out. I had the same problem during my last trip, I had just replaced the plug on my cord and could not get shore power to work. I took that plug appart 3 times to double triple check myself. I just about gave up and found a metal junction box under one of the night stands where a wire was shorting out. Easy fix and all problems solved.

Siamese66 08-17-2006 05:17 PM

I found the junction box. But, all connections are tight and wires seem in great condition. Is it possible, that the trip switch itself is bad? It looks like I have a GFC switch that is throwing? Should I just replace it?

loudruff 08-17-2006 06:59 PM

old trailer to GFI
 
We had a similar experience the first time we took our vintage '78 to a newly wired campground. It blew the GFI breaker everytime we plugged in. Fearing a rotted 30 amp wire, we replaced it all. Still blew the campground GFI, until I noticed that a ground bar inside the fuse panel connecting the ground to neutral. I removed this connection and then all was well.
Good luck!
Larry

Siamese66 08-17-2006 09:29 PM

Ground bar? What does the ground bar connection look like? I had been plugging into the house for a couple of days and not a problem. Its a recent thing. So, to understand the breaker is basically protecting the univolt? So, the issue would be between the house receptical and the breaker? Or is it possible to be after the breaker? how would I know if the breaker is working properly?

loudruff 08-17-2006 10:32 PM

If it worked yesterday it is not a ground bar problem. How about changing out the plug/GFI and see if that is the problem. It seems the more they trip the weaker they get.

Siamese66 08-18-2006 06:24 PM

BINGO! I found it! I did locate the ground bar and the white wire. However, I just went ahead and replaced the breaker. It didn't seem that the reset button wasn't working well anyway. Shazaam! I have AC again! :-) Thanks for the help! I find that alittle different info from each person seems to work.

Alumin8 08-19-2006 06:49 AM

Ahhh, the beauty of two heads - or many more. Collective reasoning does have it's place. Bounce, bounce, bounce----> answer.

Joe

Chaplain Kent 08-19-2006 07:27 AM

One more thing now that you have power. Check your connections at the 110 only, like the AC, the 110 outlets, and the microwave. Make certain they are all tight and there are no loose or loosening connections. Check the wires to make sure they have insulation and have not started to short out against something. Reason being is that breaker tripped for a reason and tripped many times enough so to wear out the reset. Better safe than sorry. Most of these problems will be caught right at the connection. I bet you will find where a PO put in a new outlet or something like that.

Siamese66 08-20-2006 10:37 AM

Thanks! Will do! :-)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.