Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (https://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   General Repair Forum (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f44/)
-   -   AC Power Blinking on/off (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f44/ac-power-blinking-on-off-204356.html)

Dkoelfgen 01-08-2020 09:12 PM

AC Power Blinking on/off
 
Hello all,
Looking for some help. We are traveling and camping in our 2011 27' FB, last 3 nights everything is working well. Tonight we hooked up at the new Park, everything working as it should, plugged into the park 30 Amp 110 Volts. Then out of the blue our lights started blinking on then off on about a 1 - 2 second cycle. I turned the USE/Store switch to Use and the lights stayed on but the voltage measured at the 110 outlets is only 74 Volts AC.
I just switched to Store, and the lights are on steady but still only have 75 volts on the AC and it goes down to 60 VAC if I plug something in.
My batteries are down to 75% and it's 9:10 at night.
Turning everything off to save the batteries for the furnace.
Please help!
DK

rmkrum 01-08-2020 10:57 PM

AC Power Blinking on/off
 
120 volt AC Pedestal connection or the park is having power issues due to a bad connection somewhere. Unplug and get out your multimeter and verify good power. 74 volts is low enough to damage your trailer 120 volt circuits.

GCinSC2 01-09-2020 04:57 AM

Get park to inspect pedestal outlet.

Do you have an adapter that can plug 30A into 20A outlet? This just gives you a chance to charge batteries but limited power, no heat pump microwave+how water tank stuff.

If you pull 30A plug from outlet inspect plug and outlet for burned condition.

Foiled Again 01-09-2020 05:25 AM

Also if you have a 50 to 30 amp "dogbone" you can use it to connect your 30 amp cord to a 50 amp plug if there is one on the pedestal. 30 amp outlets get the most usage, ergo they wear out first. Do not try to run more stuff at one time than you normally can on 30 amps... you will either pop breakers or damage your cord.

If you can reach a vacant pedestal with your power cord/30 amp extension cord you can confirm that the problem is at your pedestal, then get the camp management to move you or replace the plug.

Dkoelfgen 01-09-2020 08:06 AM

I have to unplug to check the pedestal voltage so it reads 111 V but no load on it.

Dkoelfgen 01-09-2020 08:09 AM

There is only one 30 Amp receptacle. The office opens at 9:00. I will probably have to move.

Adventure.AS 01-09-2020 08:15 AM

Do you have a portable surge suppressor or EMS, such as the Progressive Industries EMS-PT30X? Be sure and get one that provides over/under voltage protection.

jimfa440 01-09-2020 09:23 AM

I agree with Adventure.AS, get yourself a surge protector.

JohnTF 01-09-2020 09:54 AM

I would suggest , never plug into an unknown outlet - test before using .
Now the problem is knowing enough to test ?
This is why the world sells all kinds stuff for too much money - to makeup for the lack of knowing something about what we use .

A good example , you have this issue and do not know , now you go to who-ever when they open , this person know about the same as you .

How do you tell what's up ?

I say learn some basics to protect you & your's !

The more you know , the less someone can rip you off ;)

Dkoelfgen 01-09-2020 06:38 PM

It was the Shore Power. Turns out they were having problems but supposedly had the Power Co. fix it.
Anyway, no damage that I can see. I will get a surge protector and probably a tester.
Thanks all for the help and info.
All the best
DK


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.