Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (https://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   1956 Safari (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f91/)
-   -   Our yet to be named, '56 Safari (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f91/our-yet-to-be-named-56-safari-176763.html)

steinVT 01-14-2018 01:19 PM

Our yet to be named, '56 Safari

5 Attachment(s)
After countless hours reading blogs written by folks restoring vintage Airstreams, I think it is probably time I add our story to the collective consciousness.

My wife and I are the proud owners of a 1956 22’ Airstream Safari. I am an engineer by training but have always been sort of a motor head. When I was younger, it was old english sports cars. More recently it has been motor cycles, currently old BMW Airheads. Both in cars and bikes, I got great enjoyment of “rescuing” forgotten machines and restoring them to their former glory. I had occasionally thought it would be fun to get an Airstream and do the same. Well, now we have done it.

My wife and I have never really toured the US. Flown all over it, but not really toured. Initially I thought we should do it in a conversion van or a truck camper and was very seriously considering building a truck camper from scratch. Then I happened to look at the local Craigslist. And there she was a ’56 Safari, all of three miles from our house!