Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (https://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Awnings (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f442/)
-   -   Awning Set-up Problem (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f442/awning-set-up-problem-168201.html)

Kellycanoe 06-12-2017 11:18 AM

Awning Set-up Problem

Hi there,

I'm not sure if there is a repair forum that would be a more appropriate place to post my question, but maybe someone here can help. I have a 2015 22FB Sport that I purchased new. Because of all sorts of unexpected events, I have yet to get out with it more than a few times but I'm hoping that will change! But that means that I'm still an AS newbie even though my AS is 2 years old.

As I went about spring maintenance, I discovered that there's a problem with the Zip-Dee awning. This is the model with curved end arms. When I roll out the awning, I find the rafter arms are about an inch too long to hook on the ends of the roller -- as if it should be possible to roll the awning out about another inch. If I extend the rafter arms to the first locking position (first "click"), they extend past the roller. If I hook them onto the roller just short of that first click, there is enough tension to hold the awning in place but I'm sure a stiff breeze would change that!

I used the AS so few times in the past two years, and often didn't need to set up the awning, that I can't be absolutely sure this is a new problem. As a newbie, it's possible I didn't notice the rafter arm wasn't clicking into place.

Is there an adjustment I can make to fix this, or do I need to get it back to the dealer? On a scale of 1 to 10 where 0 = utterly dangerous around workshop tools and 10 = the neighbor you call on for your DIY repairs, I'm a 3.

Thanks in advance!

Kelly

dmbecke 06-12-2017 11:31 AM

You should be able to push the awning out with one hand while placing the hook one arm on.
Do this one side at a time

larry9000 06-12-2017 11:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kellycanoe (Post 1962224)