Airstream Forums

Airstream Forums (https://www.airforums.com/forums/)
-   Tow Vehicles (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f463/)
-   -   Pickup bed covers. (https://www.airforums.com/forums/f463/pickup-bed-covers-128664.html)

ROBERTSUNRUS 12-04-2014 11:15 PM

Pickup bed covers.

:) Hi, I studied, long and hard, before buying my new truck, and now I have to study bed covers. I want a metal, roll up cover that can be locked in many positions. Reason for this is that I want to mount and run my generator in the bed of the truck while towing so the bed cover would be partially open at times. So far, I'm leaning towards a Retrax Pro. For my truck it would be model number 40371. [about $1700.00]

Any thoughts or experience on this or similar bed covers?

rmkrum 12-04-2014 11:43 PM

Personally, given a big budget, I prefer a cab-height camper shell with a slider tray installed in the bed. Sadly, no budget, so I run what I have :bb:

That aside, I have a 2002 pickup truck with a roll-up cover that is heavy rubber over aluminum slats that run in the rails. I forget the precise brand name (probably Pace-Edwards??), but what I like about it is that once unlocked and un- latched, the cover slides sorta freely into the box that holds the roll-up part. There is a long nylon strap connected to the center of the last slat that you yank on to close it. Once you yank on the strap, the latching mechanism engages and allows the cover to stay open at about one foot increments, which is convenient for tall objects standing in the back of the truck.