Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1954 - 1959 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-10-2005, 01:13 PM   #1

'58 Overlander

im towing for the first time a 58 overlander. what is the correct ball size, height? what other sway control/safety gear should i consider? im a total newbie, never towed before
58overlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 02:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
Durango , Colorado
Cool - another 58 - I have a 58 overlander too.....

Welcome to the forum!

That should take a 2" ball - height can vary from 17 to 19" depending on axle condition - I would recommend equalizing bars and a decent size pickup truck.

Ken
Albuquerque National Balloon Fiesta
Rally
Vintage Trailer Academy - Formerly the original
restoration rally
Ken J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 02:39 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
58 overlander

Greetings Undledaddy!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Vintage Airstream Overlander ownership!

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncledaddy
im towing for the first time a 58 overlander. what is the correct ball size, height? what other sway control/safety gear should i consider? im a total newbie, never towed before