Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-23-2004, 12:33 PM   #21
Rivet Master

LOST , Hawaii
Quote:
I'm against the airbag concept, and the heavy motorized lift system. I think both will be super-expensive and heavy to drag around, and in the latter will make one side hundreds of pounds heavier than the other.
Go pneumatic, forget the heavy motors (although a high speed gear reduction motor isn't very heavy; the jack screw would probably weigh more than the motor but a mechanical system would require more maintenance). I have a couple of Bimba cylinders I am using for another lift project, 2 1/2" bore, 24" stroke that will lift 1000 lbs. with 100 lbs of air. They are 8 lbs each with mounts. A 12v Thomas compressor and a 3 gallon air tank, another 15 lbs. If you use steel for the lift and bracing that will probably add another 20 lbs over the weight you remove when you pull the old step well. Control switches, plumbing, wiring and valves another 5 lbs. The compressor, valves, and tank can be on the street side, what you end up with curb side would be like a spare tire laying in front of the door.

I paid $150 each for the cylinders (over kill for the weight and stroke needed plus these have stainless rods, what is needed would be closer to $100), compressor $100, air tank $35, 1 valve (gravity will take it down) $50, flow controls/mufflers, tube, fittings, wiring, switches solenoid, etc. $75, steel $50.

About $500 and 75 lbs.

John
74Argosy24MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 01:08 PM   #22
2 Rivet Member