RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 01-13-2021, 11:16 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Ventura , California
Question Is Total Rehab Really Necessary?

Hello, I'll start by saying that I am a newbie and I know that I will not be giving you enough information to give real advice. But I will try my best.

I live in Southern California/Central Coast where rent is CRAYCRAY. Currently paying $1400 for a crappy little 1 bedroom and that is the best we (fiancee and I) could find. Thus I have been on the lookout for a "house hack" situation for a while now.

I was helping move some stuff at a friend of a friend's house whose grandparents passed a year or so ago. I noticed an old Airstream surrounded by a bunch of junk (run down house, junk everywhere) and got a head-lightbulb. A 1975 Sovereign 31' (rear bath). I asked if I could check it out and it looks really nice inside - no signs of water damage, everything looks clean and cozy - no dust or signs of rodents/bugs. I asked if they would be selling it and they said yes. I asked how much, and they said somebody offered them $4k for it. So I figured maybe they'd give it to me for $5k.

I am a handy person. I work at a fabrication shop; the owner of which told me I could park it there while I fix it up. After doing a small amount of research, I very excitedly made a plan:

- Purchase for $5k
- Replace tires, axles, brakes
- Park at work for renovation
- Re-seal exterior
- Replace all gaskets and yellowed skylights
- Replace any other rubber/plastic parts that are out of order
- Replace any appliances that needed replacing
- Tear out single beds in middle and build a queen bed that folds up somehow
- Clean everything really well
- Paint interior mostly white to open up the space
- Pergo floors
- Possibly New counter tops? Other minor improvements?
- Spend no more than $10k on renovations