Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2017, 10:21 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Mountain Home , Arkansas
Insulation alternative?

I'm an engineer, and on a job the other day we were insulating large cold water pipes with black closed cell foam that comes in rolls 4' wide x 35' long. They are for thermal insulation and condensation prevention. They also provide some acoustic noise insulating properties. I picked up some scraps to use on my kayak racks for padding, then it hit me that this could be Great Wall insulation for my rv. I found rolls of varying thicknesses on eBay for around $80 a roll. The listings on eBay even call it rv/camper insulation. It also has an adhesive backing and adhesive for attaching edges. Anyone use this?
Scotty033x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 10:30 AM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
Currently Looking...
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Where do you plan to use it?

What's it's R value (or similar spec)?

What will you be replacing with it ?

What is the R value (or similar spec) on the original?

Run through the heat loss numbers on the trailer and see if it has any significant impact. Once you include the single pane windows and the aluminum ribs ... hmmm.....

The gotcha with many (but not all) closed cell insulations is vibration. They harden up over time (loose plasticizer) and the vibration turns them to dust. In a fixed environment this is not as big an issue. The "good stuff" is silicone rubber based. I'd be cautious about any spec you see on eBay. The "alternative" materials are about 1/4 the price. There is a strong incentive to do a switch ....

One place to use the scraps:

If you are planning to be out in cold temperatures, put it around the drain lines. It can reduce the ice buildup when you flush.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 11:02 AM   #3
Dazed and Confused