Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-21-2021, 01:50 PM   #1

1968 22' Safari
Wolcott , Vermont
Question Dried glue on interior aluminum???

Hi all -- newbie here! My partner and I are restoring my family's '68 Safari and are struggling to clean our interior aluminum after removing the wall panels and insulation/wiring.

Not sure if this was from the original build or a renovation (we don't know much of our trailer's history), but there is a thick, dried on substance all over the inner aluminum in the front and back of our trailer, along with super old stuck on electrical tape (photos attached). We are totally lost as to how to get this stuff off, we have tried simple green and steel wool but just ended up scratching the metal... we tried goo gone for the tape but really struggled to scrape it off on the curved areas...

Any ideas? Is it even worth getting the sticky stuff off? Here are some photos:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2009.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	492.6 KB
ID:	408220   Click image for larger version

Name:	sdflkjsdf.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	480.0 KB
ID:	408221  

safarinuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:09 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
Long ago I used a heat gun on some plaster or stucco stuff in an old house. I'd try a heat gun (rent/borrow) in a small area and see how that works.
2004 4Runner SE 4.7L V8
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:42 PM   #3
Site Team

1994 25' Excella
Waukesha , Wisconsin
Why are you worried about the dried glue on the inside of the exterior panels?