Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-05-2020, 09:34 AM   #1

1977 29' Ambassador
Keene , New Hampshire
1977 Land Yacht - Novice DIY renovation - PLEASE HELP :)

Hello! Thanks for your help
I am a new member and a new owner to an old Airstream...
I purchased this beautiful 1977 Land Yacht Ambassador a few months ago, and have finally started on this project during the quarantine (Covid blessings in disguise!).

This is my first time doing any kind of renovation or construction on an airstream (or anything for that matter). I'm taking my time, and trying to read and learn as much as possible along the way.
I am very grateful for this forum, and hoping that some of you experts out there can help advise me as I embark on this epic journey.

I bought the airstream in its original 1977 condition, and wanting to do a full renovation, I have begun by gutting it entirely. I'll post picture of the day I purchased it, and where it stands now. I have a found a lot of old/ broken/ rusty secrets along the way... I was expecting to uncover a certain amount, but the condition I thought it was in vs the condition it seems to be in, is somewhat of a disappointment. I have a lot more work cut out for me than I realized!

I now have it in a place where it is down to the bones: the entire frame and shell are exposed, and I overwhelmed the next steps.