Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Caravel > 2020 And Newer Caravel
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-27-2022, 10:44 AM   #1
bpg

2022 20' Caravel
Skillman , New Jersey
2022 Airstream Caravel AC Rattle and subsequent fix

Hello Air forums Community Members,

Long time user of Air forums and first time poster here. I have been using Air forums for the past 2 years when I decided to purchase an Airstream Travel Trailer on which trailer to buy, what accessories I need and during the time when I did a slight power systems upgrade by adding solar panels on the roof. Thank you so much for the wealth of info provided here.

Coming to the point, I have a 2022 Airstream Caravel travel trailer and on one of the camping trips that we had this summer, I noticed the AC is making a sound which it is not supposed to make. I recorded the sound and promptly turned off the AC and sent it to my dealer and scheduled a service appointment, which happened on 9/22/2022. As per tech notes that I got from dealer problem is stated as the following:

"Mounting bolt backed out of housing causing fan mount to twist and fan to drop and bind on side of housing"

Resolution Notes:

"Obtained roof access, removed shroud and added blue Loctite to mounting bolts. Re-aligned a/c fan and mounted in place. Reset front mount nut and rubber busing and realigned, added loctite. Installed shroud and ran a/c to test operation"