Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-09-2020, 11:50 AM   #1
PCS Express

2021 30' Globetrotter
Carlisle Barracks , Pennsylvania
Solar Package Battery Charge - Store vs On Mode

Dear Airsteam Community,

We recently purchased a 2021 30ft RB Globetrotter with the solar package, plus an optional third panel (270 watts - I think). During delivery, the Greensboro, NC Airstream dealer stated the solar panels would NOT charge the batteries while the electrical system was in the "Store" mode. Curious if this is accurate and if so, why would the solar package not charge the batteries while the trailer is in storage? Seems an odd design feature. Feel free to school me on the electrical system or solar package, as I am new to all of this. Though I have a basic understanding of how electricity works.

Apologize if this information is easily found and already exists in the forum. I registered today and after a brief search could not find the answer.

Thank you!
Brian H
Carlisle, PA
PCS Express is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 03:06 PM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Welcome Aboard 👍

I worried for 10yrs about charging the batts during Winter storage.

Then the circuit finely connected and I realized that if they had no draw and were fully charged they would be fine at Spring get ready.
SFSG with both the AGM Lifeline's and Lithium BB's.👍

Can't help on the solar question as the use/store switch has been a dilemma for as long as we've had "Cloudsplitter".
The only thing I'm sure of with ours, the batteries do charge on shore power with the switch in the 'store' mode. 🥴
YMMV🤔

Bob
🇺🇸
Old 12-09-2020, 03:32 PM   #3
Married with Airstream

2004 25' International CCD
Vancouver Island , British Columbia