Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2019, 04:07 PM   #21
4 Rivet Member
 
steelbird312's Avatar
 
2013 31' Classic
Crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 456
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimingram55 View Post
Looking for suggestions for where to install my 50 amp EMS surge protector. We have a (new to us) 2018 GT 27Q.
I did not see where you had made a decision. On my 2013 Classic, I went under the bed , right under the electrical imput. Took out a square that was about 2" all the way around larger than the unit, installed it there, made a hinge for that removed portion and reinstalled it as a cover. Ran the display cord up from under the bed for easy viewing.
__________________
steelbird312 WBCCI #6673 jerry Hodge
2013 31" Classic limited
Have no intention of arriving at the grave safely, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, throttle in the other, totally worn out and screaming
"WOO HOO, WHAT A RIDE!"
steelbird312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 09:37 AM   #22
Vantair
 
Vantair's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
Westlake Village , California
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 406
Images: 2
Progressive Industries 30A H/W Surge

Bought a while ago and was over analyzing how and where to install on 2005 25ft CCD SS. Going for it found ample space behind the Converter under side goucho. Loosened approx 8 Phillips screws and pry seat up to access. Sized the “larger orange” main 120V shore feed considering where to mount/service, cut stripped and wired surge in between. Simple.

Conveniently tucked plastic remote LCD display / switch inside right the Converter door under 12v blade fuses. Easy access status readout, and override switch protected but hidden otherwise.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2678DDD8-710E-4CED-9A1F-9B8CEC73DAA2.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	301.9 KB
ID:	364332   Click image for larger version

Name:	3FE47E60-3B72-40EE-A736-B9DE519BFC6E.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	373.0 KB
ID:	364333  

Click image for larger version

Name:	847112B4-4D2A-4C8F-B859-8CDE9BBE2FEA.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	283.4 KB
ID:	364334  
Vantair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 07:56 PM   #23
4 Rivet Member
 
steelbird312's Avatar
 
2013 31' Classic
Crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 456
Images: 11
why hide your display

Just food for thought. You have a nice, simple, working display. Why not mount it in an inconspicuous place where you can see it, rather than hiding it, and not being able to utilize the info without standing on your head? My last unit as well as the present one had mounted displays for easy visibility, I got into the habit of looking at it every time I entered after a day away to see if there had been any problems or if there might be one I wouldn't notice right off until battery power reduced significantly. As an example, I have returned to find errors such as low incoming ac power from the post and as a result the protector had turned off the device to protect a running a/c to prevent compressor damage. it's not necessary, just a thought.
You will love your device and the company has GREAT customer service.
__________________
steelbird312 WBCCI #6673 jerry Hodge
2013 31" Classic limited
Have no intention of arriving at the grave safely, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, throttle in the other, totally worn out and screaming
"WOO HOO, WHAT A RIDE!"
steelbird312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 03:49 AM   #24
RJJ
3 Rivet Member
 
RJJ's Avatar
 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
2016 20' Flying Cloud
St Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 167
I put the remote on the wall

So that I could keep track of amp usage, I had my remote pendant mounted on the wall in the galley. The business end of my EMS is installed in the converter area.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PI_30AMP_WPENDANT_030218__01__01__01.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	248.1 KB
ID:	364420  
RJJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 11:48 AM   #25
Vantair
 
Vantair's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
Westlake Village , California
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 406
Images: 2
Why hide the surge display ?

Well, our logic for concealing the LCD status /switch behind converter panel.(even though I’m an electronics gadget guy) Any one of which would be a good reason:

1.Prefer less 3rd party plastic products cluttering the walls keeping it “factory”.
2. The dated old school Red LED display constantly scrolls status which is excellent but not needing to see 24/7 especially in low light, movie, romantic or nighty-nite time.
2.Prevents “someone” (including me) from accidentally switching OFF protection due to its pronounced protruding slide protection / no protection switch.
3.Allows a secure factory protective covering at same place with our converter, charge rate status/selection pendant, AC breakers, DC fuses and now final surge protection status.
4.When ever power related issue or interested in status, “then” can easily see it for that rare <1% of the time.
5. The less flashing, blinking or attention getting stuff in the trailer, the more relaxing it is...for us.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6000DB93-B1B5-4A55-A1BF-31ECA6E4F70C.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	374.6 KB
ID:	364469   Click image for larger version

Name:	34E72C42-7306-44DA-8BA9-316CD40FAECA.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	454.2 KB
ID:	364470  

Vantair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 02:31 AM   #26
RJJ
3 Rivet Member
 
RJJ's Avatar
 
2016 26' Flying Cloud
2016 20' Flying Cloud
St Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 167
Flashing hasn't been an issue for me. I kinda see it as a "white noise" thing and it's there and readily accessible for quick reference. I have a 30 amp trailer, so I'd rather see it than not and be able to keep track of my usage. Lets me know when to not turn something on. 🔌🔋😏
RJJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 07:11 AM   #27
Overkill Specialist
Commercial Member
 
GMFL's Avatar

 
2020 30’ Globetrotter
2014 23' International
Dadeville , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,382
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 52
I just installed one in a 2019 Classic and located the remote above the breaker panel behind the cabinet cover.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1855CCA5-83B9-4C85-9D5D-D8E952D11AC6.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	253.7 KB
ID:	364540  
GMFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 09:50 AM   #28
1 Rivet Member
 
mad_mechanic's Avatar
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 18
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimingram55 View Post
Looking for suggestions for where to install my 50 amp EMS surge protector. We have a (new to us) 2018 GT 27Q.
Hi there -
I know I’m late on the post but i thought I share our hard wired surge protector in our 27GT FB.Behind the propane gas detector panel.

Regards

Thomas
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	05734BB6-A480-423C-9877-CC66D8A7B2B9.jpeg
Views:	18
Size:	79.2 KB
ID:	365876  
mad_mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 12:39 PM   #29
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5,850
Blog Entries: 1
One plus of the portable unit is being able to see the voltage/amps/wiring instantly.
Having to go inside and open a panel near the floor to see the status wouldn't happen for me.
I plug in the surge, read it, if it gives me the okay I kill the breaker and plug everything in. Inside, I have one of those cheapo voltage readouts plugged in by the stove.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 08:17 PM   #30
4 Rivet Member
 
steelbird312's Avatar
 
2013 31' Classic
Crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 456
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollysdad View Post
One plus of the portable unit is being able to see the voltage/amps/wiring instantly.
Having to go inside and open a panel near the floor to see the status wouldn't happen for me.
I plug in the surge, read it, if it gives me the okay I kill the breaker and plug everything in. Inside, I have one of those cheapo voltage readouts plugged in by the stove.
I guess you get what you pay for.
__________________
steelbird312 WBCCI #6673 jerry Hodge
2013 31" Classic limited
Have no intention of arriving at the grave safely, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, throttle in the other, totally worn out and screaming
"WOO HOO, WHAT A RIDE!"
steelbird312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surge Protector Protector...... terirdh Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 08-06-2020 12:15 PM
Hard wire PD surge protector featherbedder Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 06-01-2019 11:14 PM
I'm new. Need for surge protector? bcombs Member Introductions 14 11-09-2013 07:47 AM
Hard wired or plug-in Surge Protector Air-Hed Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 38 06-10-2013 08:59 AM
Are men hard-wired to ignore their wives? yukionna Off Topic Forum 63 02-16-2007 06:04 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.