Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-16-2021, 06:40 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2023 23' Flying Cloud
Branson West , Missouri
Value of solar?

I’m an electrical engineer and I’m having a hard time justifying the enormous cost of solar vs the fairly low power return, especially in my area where our camping will be in heavily wooded areas.

Am I nuts to take that money and add more Amphours to my lithium battery bank?

Does anyone have any real data showing use by type vs lithium capacity vs time?

I live in the Ozark mountains and plan to do a lot of camping nearby that has 30/50 amp hook ups.
Tablerocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 06:53 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
If you are on hookups you do not need any additional battery capacity. Dollar for power I think a small generator is your cheapest and most reliable source of more boon docking time. I am going to assume you have the electric refrigerator? I would want at least 200 amp hours lithium and a generator.
Bill M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 07:15 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Hartsburg , Missouri
It depnds on how you camp. We are usually at sites with no hookups so solar or/and a generator are essentail for us. If you have already invested in lithium batteries adding solar is relativley cheap, at as little as $100 a panel, especially if you can DIY. --Frank
Equalizer Hitch
fran&frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2021, 11:12 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2015 25' Flying Cloud
Schaumburg , Illinois