Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2022, 11:11 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Routing Cables from Overhead storage down to DC box

Hi,


So I am curious if folks here have had success routing cabling from the overhead storage area above their DC bus bars down to the bus bars. In our 2022 Flying Cloud 23 CBB, we have over dinette storage in the front where our WeBoost is installed that currently only has AC power up there, and I'd like to power the WeBoost and our hotspot via DC. The DC bus bar is down to the lower left (picture attached, yes, I still need to neaten up the cable mess up there, we're still mid-project).


In the end I'll go with what's easier (bringing a DC WeBoost power cord down to the DC bus bar area or bringing a 12-volt port up to the cabinet, the latter is probably preferred because then the Hotspot, interior antenna, and everything can just live up in that cabinet). I think it will cost a few hundred dollars to ask my dealer to do it, so my hope is to give it a go myself first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Front Dinette Routing.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	213.3 KB
ID:	418658  
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 11:20 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 23' FB Flying Cloud
Omaha , Nebraska
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 61
There should be 12 volt for the stereo in the white box to tap into.
dolson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 11:25 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolson View Post
There should be 12 volt for the stereo in the white box to tap into.

Oh you're right. I mean, I don't think it's not in the white "multimedia" box inside the storage, unless I could tap off the USB-port that runs from the stereo. But there should be some 12-volt power inside the compartment to the right of that storage. I just need to figure out how to get into it.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 01:17 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
2021 22' Caravel
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikingcamera View Post
Oh you're right. I mean, I don't think it's not in the white "multimedia" box inside the storage, unless I could tap off the USB-port that runs from the stereo. But there should be some 12-volt power inside the compartment to the right of that storage. I just need to figure out how to get into it.


I believe the radio is DC powered. I guess you could tap off that?
FredWilma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 09:55 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Hermes's Avatar
 
2016 28' International
Trois-Rivieres , Quebec
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 527
In mine there is 110V inverter outlet up there that I use with the cell signal booster when not plugged into shore power. Did they remove that outlet?
__________________
2016 International Signature CCD, RBQ, Dual A/C, 28'
2018 GMC Sierra SLE 2500HD, 4x4, Crew Cab, Duramax Diesel, Leer cap
DIY Solar: 500W Renogy panels, AM Solar hardware, Blue Sky MPPT controller and monitor, 470ah (C20) Rolls battery bank.
Hermes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 10:54 AM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermes View Post
In mine there is 110V inverter outlet up there that I use with the cell signal booster when not plugged into shore power. Did they remove that outlet?

The AC is what itís plugged into now. I want to wire into DC.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 01:03 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermes View Post
In mine there is 110V inverter outlet up there that I use with the cell signal booster when not plugged into shore power. Did they remove that outlet?
Your inverter probably uses as much power as your cell signal booster (maybe more), doubling the amount of power you are drawing from your batteries.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 02:40 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 30' International
Escondido , CA
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 65
Yes you can tie into the DC power for your cell booster

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikingcamera View Post
Hi,


So I am curious if folks here have had success routing cabling from the overhead storage area above their DC bus bars down to the bus bars. In our 2022 Flying Cloud 23 CBB, we have over dinette storage in the front where our WeBoost is installed that currently only has AC power up there, and I'd like to power the WeBoost and our hotspot via DC. The DC bus bar is down to the lower left (picture attached, yes, I still need to neaten up the cable mess up there, we're still mid-project).


In the end I'll go with what's easier (bringing a DC WeBoost power cord down to the DC bus bar area or bringing a 12-volt port up to the cabinet, the latter is probably preferred because then the Hotspot, interior antenna, and everything can just live up in that cabinet). I think it will cost a few hundred dollars to ask my dealer to do it, so my hope is to give it a go myself first.
Yes you can tie into the DC power for your cell booster, I'm doing that in my 2015 30RB, by tying into the power provided to the cabinet. See pics attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tech Cabinet.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	183.3 KB
ID:	418729  
dsatwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 03:05 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsatwork View Post
Yes you can tie into the DC power for your cell booster, I'm doing that in my 2015 30RB, by tying into the power provided to the cabinet. See pics attached.

Nice! How did yo get into the space where the DC power for the radio is> I canít figure that part out yet, lol.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 05:33 PM   #10
Escape Pod II
 
John Ware's Avatar
 
2018 22' Sport
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Orange , TEXAS
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikingcamera View Post
The AC is what it’s plugged into now. I want to wire into DC.
If I remember correctly, there is an extra 12v power supply reserved for the satellite receiver. Is it nearby? It's behind my radio.
__________________
JEWare
John Ware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 08:18 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Ware View Post
If I remember correctly, there is an extra 12v power supply reserved for the satellite receiver. Is it nearby? It's behind my radio.


HmmÖ Iíll have to look again. I saw the satellite cable, but I didnít notice a power supply cable. Iíll pull that cabinet open again and check. Thanks!
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 10:45 PM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 30' International
Escondido , CA
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 65
DC power source in tech cabinet

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikingcamera View Post
Nice! How did yo get into the space where the DC power for the radio is> I canít figure that part out yet, lol.
If you pull out the DVD, you should see the power source. Large 10 gauge blue wires that go to the power outlet. You might have to remove the cabinet, can't remember if is was needed because my install required removing the cabinet and wall to get access for running antenna wires in from the roof.
dsatwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2022, 02:48 AM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Routing Cables from Overhead storage down to DC box

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsatwork View Post
If you pull out the DVD, you should see the power source. Large 10 gauge blue wires that go to the power outlet. You might have to remove the cabinet, can't remember if is was needed because my install required removing the cabinet and wall to get access for running antenna wires in from the roof.

I may need to grab a close up picture of that area, but in mine there is only one inverter power outlet and it does not run behind the DVD plays, itís on the wall of the cabinet, not in the little multimedia box they have. There are some cables running from a hole in the wall into the multimedia box where the DVD player is, but they are all black cables. One is the satellite coaxial connection.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 03:17 PM   #14
The Aluminum Tent 3
 
pcskier's Avatar
 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,890
You can also remove speaker to get to wires behind the radio.
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 04:56 PM   #15
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcskier View Post
You can also remove speaker to get to wires behind the radio.

Oh, good tip! That might be simpler. Thanks!
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 05:03 PM   #16
Overkill Specialist
Commercial Member
 
GMFL's Avatar

 
2020 30í Globetrotter
2014 23' International
Dadeville , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4,474
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 52
There are several 12volt circuits in the “entertainment center”.
__________________
Instagram @Airstream_Nuts_And_Bolts
DoItYourselfRV Articles
Dept of ďOverkillĒ
GMFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 06:27 PM   #17
4 Rivet Member
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2022 23' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMFL View Post
There are several 12volt circuits in the ďentertainment centerĒ.

Yeah, I was realizing there also must be 12-volt up there for the under cabinet lighting there.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulling larger cables into batt box openroad118 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 01-06-2017 07:50 AM
Routing Battery Cables from Curbside to Street side? explore more Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 05-24-2016 08:28 AM
What are all those cables in my battery box? RubyDog Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 03-01-2015 08:53 AM
I have 3 boxes of assorted parts from my airstream 59 Tradewind, I would like to sell by the box for 300.00 per box or best offer per box 59as Airstream Classifieds 0 09-19-2014 11:01 AM
Goin' down, down, down... Aironius Axles 12 08-23-2014 08:09 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.