Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Flying Cloud > 2016 - Current Flying Cloud
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-17-2021, 10:01 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2022 25' International
Dallas , Texas
30’ FC Office w/ 2018 Lincoln Nav Reserve 4x4

Hi:

I’m a newbie to the forums and airstreams and towing generally. We’re an outdoors family that has always tent camped. We’re now in the market for a trailer.

My wife drives a 2018 Lincoln Navigator Reserve 4x4. The tow capacity is 8300. Realistically, am I making a mechanical and safety mistake choosing something as large as a 2021 30’ FC? We’re alternatively looking at the 25’ model.

We have 3 young-ish kids ages 13,11 and 8. That’s the reason for the debate on 30 vs 25. I won’t have a stronger tow vehicle until late ‘22 most likely.

I’d greatly appreciate any thoughts and my apologies if I posted this in the wrong spot.
Texarado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 10:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Welcome to Airforums! We are glad to have you with us.

As for your question, you will probably hear multiple opinions soon.

Most often, the key limitation will be the tow vehicle's payload capacity, not the towing capacity. The first thing to know is that when manufacturers list the payload capacity of a vehicle on their website, that is for a base model vehicle with no options. All the options and features that get added reduce the usable payload. You need to go out to your Navigator and find the yellow label on the door jamb, it will have a payload limit number that accounts for all the goodies you have on that "Reserve" model.