Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2020, 06:32 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
1989 29' Excella
2018 30' Classic
Cumming , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 197
Images: 10
length of 50amp cord for 2018 Classic

Hi all,

We're picking up our classic tomorrow and we're going to be staying on a friends property who has 50amp service.

Question is we don't know if we need to buy an extension cord.

Can anyone help us know the length of the 50amp cable that comes with a 2018 Classic 30RB?

thanks

Dave
__________________

davcarv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 06:53 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,140
I just measured mine for you and it is 37'
__________________

__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 07:25 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13,679
If you need to go longer than that 37' OEM cord, you should upgrade to a lower AWG [American Wire Gauge] number cord/cable for larger diameter wires inside. Do you know the total "run" you need from the trailer to your friend's outlet? Keep in mind that any new inline plugs/connectors will affect your available amps and possibly voltage.

Lots of factors to be considered if the total run is high IMO.
__________________
Peter
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 09:48 AM   #4
Rivet Master

 
2019 25' Flying Cloud
Hendersonville , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 628
Friends 50 AMP Service

You probably already know this but make sure that 50 AMP Service is 110/120 Volts and not 220 Volts.

Would not want you to fry the electrical system of your new Classic.

Congrats on your Classic!
uraljohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 08:41 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
1989 29' Excella
2018 30' Classic
Cumming , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 197
Images: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uraljohn View Post
You probably already know this but make sure that 50 AMP Service is 110/120 Volts and not 220 Volts.

Would not want you to fry the electrical system of your new Classic.

Congrats on your Classic!
Thanks for replying to my post
Follow up question
If the service was 220 would’t the coaches breakers do thier job and trip? And protect me?
davcarv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 08:51 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,336
Images: 1
length of 50amp cord for 2018 Classic

Quote:
Originally Posted by davcarv View Post
If the service was 220 wouldít the coaches breakers do thier job and trip? And protect me?

No.

50A RV service is 2 legs with 120v each @50A each with a common neutral.

Drive 240v bonded to your trailer and kiss 120v electronics, air conditioners, converter, anything 120v powered goodbye. Breakers protect wiring against current not voltage.

In reality this will never happen unless you hire a completely inept electrician to wire a ď50AĒ outlet for your trailer at Home off your main panel and they donít wire a NEMA 14-50 outlet correctly. This is an edge case - almost never happens although there are some reports on the form of this

Iím not an electrician and even I was able to wire a 14-50 outlet correctly for my electric car charger..........
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 09:06 PM   #7
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8,122
The real danger is the electrician that wires an RV-30 120 volt only receptacle like an obsolete three/wire electric stove outlet, putting 220 volts from hot to neutral on the trailer. Yup, smoke does leak out when that happens.

They donít look at the diagram on the box the receptacle comes in because ďthey know what they are doing...Ē instead of thinking first.

Thatís why I wire my own. I think about what Iím doing first before I just wire it up. .
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 09:27 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
2017 28' International
Baileys Harbor , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,127
Blog Entries: 1
You don’t want to get 1 longer cord. I bought an extension 50 AMP cord for when we stay at son’s place. We just leave it there, because frankly you will seldom if ever need it. Also remember to cover over the connection with an extension cord. If it rains it will blow the breaker. We learned the hard way.

Just a suggestion: Get a shorter 50 AMP cord. You are going to hate using that 37’ cord all the time. It is a bear to get in and out; especially when it is cold. I keep mine with me just in case. Using the 15’ 50AMP is a breeze.
Daquenzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 09:36 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,336
Images: 1
length of 50amp cord for 2018 Classic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daquenzer;
Just a suggestion: Get a shorter 50 AMP cord. You are going to hate using that 37í cord all the time. It is a bear to get in and out; especially when it is cold. I keep mine with me just in case. Using the 15í 50AMP is a breeze.

^^^ X2.

I have a 15í flexible 50A Mighty Cord with 10í extension for my 30í trailer. I canít actually remember the last time I used the extension.....

The stock power cord that air steam ships is a beast to handle. Just wait until it gets cold outside and it basically becomes a brick. Sold mine on Craigslist.....
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 07:16 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
^^^ X2.

The stock power cord that air steam ships is a beast to handle. Just wait until it gets cold outside and it basically becomes a brick. Sold mine on Craigslist.....

The stock cord IS a beast. I installed a reel in the rear compartment of my Classic and winding that cord when it was cold was horrible! Two person job.

At the suggestion of someone here I bought a 25' mighty cord (50a). It can be wound much tighter and bends so much easier when cold.

Here's a link:

https://www.etrailer.com/RV-Power-Co...-5025ED90.html
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 07:51 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2020 30' Classic
2019 28' International
Holyoke , Massachusetts
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 34
I bought the Mighty Cord too but also bought the extension cord for it since it's shorter than the stock cable.
hsgsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 08:04 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2019 30' Flying Cloud
Grass Lake , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daquenzer View Post
You donít want to get 1 longer cord. I bought an extension 50 AMP cord for when we stay at sonís place. We just leave it there, because frankly you will seldom if ever need it. Also remember to cover over the connection with an extension cord. If it rains it will blow the breaker. We learned the hard way.

Just a suggestion: Get a shorter 50 AMP cord. You are going to hate using that 37í cord all the time. It is a bear to get in and out; especially when it is cold. I keep mine with me just in case. Using the 15í 50AMP is a breeze.

x3. We also bought a 15' 50A extension cord with an adapter for the AS marine inlet and now rarely use the factory cord. About 90% of the time, power in campsites is within 15' of the AS inlet.

Adapter: https://www.etrailer.com/Marine-Powe.../CAM55562.html
cord:https://www.etrailer.com/RV-Power-Co.../CAM55194.html


The 15' cord is higher quality than the factory cord and is much more flexible, making it easier to store.
oldenavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 10:45 AM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
1994 33' Land Yacht
APEX , NC
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 14
120/240??

Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
No.

50A RV service is 2 legs with 120v each @50A each with a common neutral.

Drive 240v bonded to your trailer and kiss 120v electronics, air conditioners, converter, anything 120v powered goodbye. Breakers protect wiring against current not voltage.

In reality this will never happen unless you hire a completely inept electrician to wire a ď50AĒ outlet for your trailer at Home off your main panel and they donít wire a NEMA 14-50 outlet correctly. This is an edge case - almost never happens although there are some reports on the form of this

Iím not an electrician and even I was able to wire a 14-50 outlet correctly for my electric car charger..........
240v in the US comes from "2 legs with 120v each" So is the rv panel 120 or 240??
RON NICKELS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 12:08 PM   #14
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8,122
length of 50amp cord for 2018 Classic

The circuits in the panel are loaded only with single pole load breakers, so the circuits appliances and outlets only get 120 volts.

They use a panel designed for 240 volt distribution, but wire for 120 volt circuits.

On each 120 volt circuit, the hot lead (black) goes to a breaker output screw, the neutral (white) goes to the neutral buss bar, and the safety earth (ground, green or bare wire) goes to a separate ground buss bar per code.

There is 240 volts in there between the two Ďhotí buss bars, but it takes different wiring (and two breakers) to send 240 to an appropriate appliance. They donít wire for 240 usually.

The power from the shore power input goes to a pair of 50-amp MAIN breakers that feed the two internal hot buss bars in the panel that the load circuit breakers connect to.

In a house, the two MAIN breakers are tied together. This is done to kill all power if one of them overloads and trips. Dunno how a trailer does this, because mine is 30 amp only, with a single MAIN 30 amp breaker. I suspect it is the same way.
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 08:50 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by uraljohn View Post
You probably already know this but make sure that 50 AMP Service is 110/120 Volts and not 220 Volts.

Would not want you to fry the electrical system of your new Classic.

Congrats on your Classic!
Absolutely WRONG! 50 amp must be 240 volt. Neutral wire can only handle 50 amp so if the two 50 amp hot wires are same leg so they are not 240 volt then you could have 100 amps on the neutral and have a fire.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 04:55 AM   #16
Slide Out Society #001
 
GCinSC2's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,694
Mark Polk describes 30A vs 50A wiring. At about 2 minute mark, 50A is explained that's the good stuff.

__________________
S/OS #001
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L 6 Speed
16" Michelins, Hi Spec Wheels, Max Brake, Carslile Actuator, Equal-i-zer, Dill TPMS. Campfire cook.
GCinSC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:46 PM   #17
3 Rivet Member
 
1989 29' Excella
2018 30' Classic
Cumming , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 197
Images: 10
Hi,
Quick update.
We stayed at our friends place this weekend and used his shore power.
All was well.
__________________

davcarv is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Storage for 50amp cord Flht2k 2016 - Current Flying Cloud 9 03-01-2017 02:02 PM
Using a 30amp cord on a 50amp connection Pat Cassity Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 28 11-05-2015 08:05 PM
Length of standard 30 amp extension cord on trailer Lothlorian Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 8 09-02-2015 08:56 PM
Power cord length-recommendations? SilverHoot Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 17 01-23-2011 02:39 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.