Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle > Solo Streamers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-10-2019, 10:35 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Henderson , Nevada
Advice needed ....much advice!:-)

Hi y'all. No idea where to post this, but I'm a solo female who would like to take on a restoration project. I am faaaar from retirement at 33 but this idea has been a gleam in my eyes since I was about 16 years old. I'm currently in Vegas and well.....I'm not sure where to start. I have some experience with home restoration and it has always been a dream of mine to own my own vintage AS. I see all the classifieds but could always use help. Where have others started when looking into and starting on this crazy path and lifestyle. Also where should I post this in order to be more appropriate or more in line with the direction of the forums? Or just to get the most help in general? Thank you in advance friends. I can't wait to hear some of your replies.
Dreaming in the Desert.
Mujo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 06:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
1955 22' Flying Cloud
Fredericksburg , Texas
As far as a vintage AS, I would start with reading all I could about the different models over the years. Airstream Archives/Pictures is a good place to start. Figure out the year/model and start putting feelers out. Know your skill set, budget, location where this renovation will take place. Check out a few AS vintage rallies around your region during open house. Check out Vintage Camper Magazine. I know there’s a company in Tehachapi that searches out and rescues old trailers. Airstream Hunter is another source for vintage ASs. There is plenty of information on the forums for a DIY AS project. Take it slow and easy. Good luck