Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-03-2009, 08:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1972 25' Tradewind
Mobile By Way Of Atlanta, By Way Of Denver! , Alabama
Anybody seen a painted Airstream before?

Hello everybody!
We met a very nice couple at Meaher State Park here in Mobile yesterday... the husband helped us with some Trailing101 (it was our Airstream's maiden voyage with us, and our first time 'Streaming!) and he mentioned that he had a 1977 Sovereign and that it was in great condition and we should come check it out... now, I'm a newbie to the Airstream world so I love looking at other trailers so it was an obvious "ok, we'll come look..."
I was puzzled when I first saw it because:
a) it was painted pearly-grayish-white
b) the stripe on the side that's usually blue was red
c) the bottom was painted a dark gray-green-black
d) next to the sovereign nameplate there was an orange, circular badge with an "A" on it and the saying:
"Another Quality Product Leisure World Of Airstream"

Any thoughts? Do you think somebody simply painted it to be different? I'm no expert but it was a great paint job, looked super professional... the gentleman is the 2nd owner and said that only a small number of these were made, true?

Come on o' wise ones! If somebody knows something, cure my curiosity.

Thanks!
Shar
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EarlStream.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	79618  
72BamaStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 08:33 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Well, it's not an Argosy (no panoramic window up front). A silver painted Airstream can be hard to tell from more than 5' away. This one looks a different color. Have a paint chip?

78 Sovereign?

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 08:39 PM   #3
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large