Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-15-2022, 09:01 PM   #1
GR3
1 Rivet Member

Trussville , Alabama
My Reasons and Plans for Airstreaming

Hello,

As I wrote in a previous post I am new to this. I have not purchased my Airstream. I am at an age in my life in which I have the opportunity to decide where and what I am going to do. I am 58.

I am a licensed Professional Geologist and I owned and ran an Environmental Consulting firm for 25 years. Several years ago I had some pretty serious health issues and, only by the miracles of Jesus, I survived. Because of all this I had to close my business. I currently live in Alabama; however, I do not have any ties here. I like it, don't get me wrong, it's just all I have known since I moved here from Oklahoma in 1986. Now I have an opportunity to see if it's where I am supposed to be. I am planning on liquidating most of the "things" I have, including cars, truck, a personally restored frame-off 1985 Jeep Scrambler (I will miss that), 1975 Harley Sportster, 1971 Triumph motorcycle, basically most material things, (things that can be replaced), buying a good tow vehicle and an Airstream.

For the next year or so I plan on visiting different portions of the country and see what I like. I am going to focus on western states, excluding the left coast states. Although, Alaska is not at all out of the question.

The experience with Environmental Regulation requirements, along with the other Environmental Consulting experience I have, can be used pretty much anywhere. Certain states do have specific certification requirements, but those can be dealt with.

It's going to take planning. It's not an impulse decision.