Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-06-2014, 01:38 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Vail , Colorado
How big do I need to go?

Hi, I'm brand new to travel trailers and have been looking/dreaming of an Airstream for 3 or 4 years now. My family is my wife, myself and two boys that are 10 and 12 but pretty tall. We also have one dog. The only way my wife and I will be happy is if there is enough room for the four of us. I want to go big enough to be comfortable but no larger. What do you recommend for a family of four? Thanks in advance and sorry if this is covered somewhere else.
Colohunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:47 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2011 23' International
clovis , California
The boys will be adult sized in the blink of an eye.
I think you need at least 27 or 28 feet…. and a tent!
jgerardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
St. Catharines , South Western Ontario
When I was a teen I wanted to, and enjoyed sleeping in a pup tent, not a trailer.

There are families on the fiberglass egg forum that are happy fitting into 16' trailers. A little small for most families but it is a personal thing.
Old 04-06-2014, 03:11 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
1977 31' Excella 500
Berkeley Springs , West Virginia

What's your tow vehicle? I sure like my 34 footer (two kids and a dog) and have no interest in going smaller. The triple axles tow like a dream. But, they are tight for state parks that cater to pop up tent campers.

Where do you want to go?

If it's not super tight confines, get a 34 and never look back
Old 04-06-2014, 03:47 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Vail , Colorado