Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2024, 08:55 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
napa , California
Am I Too Old For This

So, I am a newbie, aged 70+, did a lot of travel in my youth but now am trying to retire (not doing that very well) and am considering the purchase of an AS- used of course, but very nice- 22' International 2003 CCD. Am I out of my mind or is this something I can and should do? I am healthy - no meds and no physical issues- but I am not sure if this is a good idea or not. Not exactly a mid-life crisis since mid-life too is in the rear-view mirror, hopefully not that far away though. I want to re-visit the places I saw when I was younger, and then other places too.
Please convince me with thoughts one way or the other. I really do like AS's but has this boat (RV) sailed?
Thanks
johnmcgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 09:18 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Hello John, welcome to AirForums! We are glad to have you with us.

There are plenty of people who continue RVing through their seventies. Starting at that age is less common, but if you are physically and mentally fit you can do it.

At any age, you also need to have a positive spirit and can-do attitude--you will encounter problems and setbacks (leaks, electrical gremlins, broken appliances...). You need to be adaptable and flexible. Being able to debug and fix some problems as a do-it-yourselfer will help a lot. RV repair businesses often have a long backlog, and their competency varies.
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 09:22 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 27' Safari FB SE
NW Oregon in a nice spot , Oregon
Wholly smokes are you going to get replies....