Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-22-2020, 04:13 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2021 16' Caravel
Kirkland , Washington
Question Will two of us be happy with the 16'?

Hi all,
I thought we were settled with the 19CB Caravel purchase but we are having second thought and started to consider the 16' Caravel.

I have spent hours and hours reading previous posts on this subject but still have questions - we have ZERO RV experience and the COVID19 thing have made experiencing it in person more difficult.

I will start with my questions first, and some background about us after that.

- I know the grey/black combo tank is smaller, but since I have zero RV experience, I don't know what that translates to, does that mean I have to find a full hookup everyday? What about the fresh water tank and battery limitations? How many days can we boondock and enjoy it if we watch our water usage carefully and with a generator?

- How important is the rear panoramic window? Does it give a better view often enough to become a factor in this consideration?

- Obviously the lighter, shorter trailer is easier to tow, beside that, would it give us access to more campsites/RV parks that a 19' or longer AS does not have access to?

- Does it provide enough storage for RV essentials tools? I have watched a few youtube videos and seems like there are quite a few things, like leveling boards, multiple hoses, surge protectors, extension cords, chocks, 30/50amp adapters, etc, that are fairly big and might not fit in the interior drawers of the 16'. Of course we could put some of these in our mid- size SUV, but with an inverter generator in the truck, there might not be much space left and we'd also keep the car interior as clean as possible.