Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-02-2018, 07:33 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Bay City , MI
What should I look for? Buying an older airstream

Wow there is so much information on here. My wife and I are going to purchase an older mid 70s airstream. Are there any certain things I need to look for when I go look at these?
I've seen alot of axle, frame, water leak issues on this forum.
I used to be a mechanic and I am now contractor so obvious things should stick out fairly good. Anything specific to look for so I dont get it home and kick my self?

Thanks!
Gilson84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 07:55 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
Leaks, leaks and damage from leaks. Rusty frame. Poke it where the A frame enters the trailer. Looks in the storage areas at the subfloor. Any evidence of leaks from the gray and back water tanks. Does it have a gray water tank? You might want to check the axles for sag or just plan on replacing them. Smell test. If it smells bad something is leaking. Did I mention look for damage from leaks?

If I was going to pull it and camp in it I would want a model with a gray tank. Do not know if they were in mid seventies trailers or not. If parked and hooked rto sewer that does not matter.

Look at the frame sections near the axles. I have heard of the frame breaking on some models. Hopefuly some one that knows will address this. My experience is with mid 80’s trailers and yes I had to replace an A frame that was rusted under the paint from a battery leak probably
Bill M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 09:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
Baltimore , Maryland