Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-12-2004, 12:42 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Cool WEIGHT New vs old

Please forgive my ignorance, but I am new to all of this. I keep hearing that the new airstreams weigh considerably more than the old models. Why? What has changed? Are the new ones being built better and are therefore heavier, or are new new one being built of cheaper materials that weigh more? For instance maybe more aluminum in the older models and more steel in the newer models.

Sorry but I kept running into this and decided I should know what everyone was talking about.

richard
rtate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 01:05 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

...According to the tour guide at the factory tour...

They use thicker AL skin and few rivets -- I think he said they went from .032 to .040. (probably makes the shell weigh 20% more than it did)

They use a different structural rib that allows the shell to be assembeld on jigs in several pieces, that are then married together.

Tour guide said that the roofs are stronger -- said a big guy like me can crawl around up their on the rivet lines just fine -- verified that with my 2004 while trying to repair something...(I am 6'5" and weight about 240)

The torsion axles are less likely to taking a 'set' while sitting.

The floor is made out of structural plywood instead of plywood.

The frame is supposedly beefier, and is steel, like the vintage airstreams.