RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 11-21-2020, 06:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2021 25' Flying Cloud
Austin , Texas
Portable Solar Panel Capabilities

This isnít a question about what is the best portable solar panel product, itís about what I can operate in my RV with portable solar power. I will soon have a 28FC with 2 ACís. I opted not to include the factory roof solar panels. Can I get a reasonably simple portable solar panel to operate the ACís, refrigerator/freezer, microwave/convection oven, the lights etc.? Do I need different batteries than the standard issue batteries? I donít want to jury rig a bunch of panels together. I would like a plug and play solution if itís even possible. Obviously, I am a rookie when it comes to solar power solutions so give me some slack for my ignorance. I sincerely appreciate your inputs. I have a learned a lot from this forum and at the moment, I am a learning sponge with the wealth of the information that people are willing to share.
Pappy3393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 06:08 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
A typical 13500 btu rv air conditioner will consume 1250 watts of power when running. Plus a lot more to get it started. That is a lot of solar power just to run the AC.
The microwave will consume 500 to 1200 watts when running.
I believe you will find there is a slim to none chance of using portable panels for this purpose.
When using solar power to power 120 volt alternating current (A/C) devices. An INVERTER is required to convert the DC power generated by the solar panel(s) to useable 120 volt A/C. There are losses of 10% to 20% depending on what INVERTER is used.
Solar is not a practical solution to your requirements. IMHO
You are looking at shore power, 50amp service or a sizable generator.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 06:26 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2018 25' International