Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-22-2018, 10:00 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2022 16' Basecamp
Columbus , Ohio
New here

Nieve one
I am new here, and have a question. Given there is such a following/value in Airstreams, I am considering undertaking a project to refurbish an old airframe as a hobby for my daughter and I. I am a engineering professor that likes to work with his hands, and has had previous experince with metal working, wood working, and electrical.... I see myself and wife retiring in 5-10 years, so this would be our RV, not wanting to flip it. Finally, wife and I still backback, so we would want to use airstream for extended trips to the great outdoors.
So, my question is, am I nieve/crazy, and what kind of tired AS should I look for? Daughter is good with her hands also.
Chalmers.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2018, 12:26 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the forums!

Well, your vision of finding a trailer and rennovating it is not crazy, people on these forums do it all the time. There is a thread that is a compliation of all the "full monty" restorations--good reading material. There is also The VAP (Vintage Airstream Podcast). It is a little rough, but the early episodes at least, spent a fair amount of time talking about repairing and rennovating vintage Airstreams.